The Legends win fourth straight Cougar Golf Classic

The Legends win fourth straight Cougar Golf Classic

                The Legends captured their fourth straight Cougar Golf Classic title on Saturday at the Monument Shadows Golf Course in Gering.

                There were 18 teams that competed in the 14th annual tournament. The Legends team of Mike McKee, Ron Jones, Rick Gable, and Matt Hessler shot a team score of 48 to earn the title in a close race. The Legends held off the Chickies Boys, who shot a 51.5 and Team Payne/Ramirez with a 51.7 score.

TO VIEW PHOTOS, GO TO 2017 Golf Classic Photos

                The Chickies Boys included Jeff Dunn, Russ Knight, Pete Moreno, and Shave Reynolds. The Payne/Ramirez team members were Jim Payne, Mark Payne, Mike Ramirez, and Brandon Ramirez.

                Fourth place went to the foursome of Jonas Longoria, Ernie Aguallo, Sonny Marez and Doug Millay, who shot a 53.4. Fifth place went to the foursome of Scott Winters, Tom Robinson, Trey Blanco, and Th om Van Boskirk, who had a 55.55 score.

                The COED/Women's division was won by Platte Valley Companies with a 50.6 score. Platte Valley Companies edged out Team Gealy, which shot a 51.7. The 2x2 team finished third with a 53.95 and Team Time took fourth with a 57.75 score.

                Platte Valley Companies winning team included Tammy Hoffman, Amy Hauser, Crystal Smith, and Audrey Murphy.

                Gealy's team members included Clarence Gealy, Deb Gealy, Jerry Gealy, and Amanda Furrer, while 2x2 members were Brady Mitchell, Stacy Mitchell, Wendy Goos, and Eric Hinze.

                The golf classic included hole prizes. The winners were Libby Stobel (longest putt for women on hole 2), Ron Johns (longest drive for men on hole 4), Jonas Longoria (closest to the pin in two shots on hole 5), Stanton Bebee (shortest drive for men on hole 8), Tim Hoffman (closest to the water on hole 9), Crystal Smith (longest drive for women on hole 10), Luke Stobel (closest to the sand on hole 12), Matt Hessler (closest to the pin with tee shot on hole 13), Deb Gealy (shortest drive for women on hole 15), and Rick Gable (longest putt for men on hole 18).

                The proceeds from the Cougar Golf Classic go to the WNCC athletic scholarship fund.